Broadband Task Force

Home » Residents » Broadband Task Force

Meetings are held the first Friday every other month from 9-10am.

Co-Chair: Sheila Matias LPC Commission Member

Co-Chair: Tony Rodriguez LPC OCED Director


Michael Bohacek – Senator, District 8

Jim Pressell – Representative, District 20

Pat Boy – Representative, District 9

Randy Novak – President, LP County Council

Al Walus – Senior Project Manager, Christopher B. Burke Engineering, LLC

Scott Sears – CEO KVREMC

Justin Kiel – Westville Indicator

John Matwyshyn – Hudson Township

Tom Casey – Director, La Porte City Planner

Tom Fath – Vice President, Westville Town Council

Mary Jane Thomas – Founder, Thomas & Associates

Richard Pate – CEO, Pate & Associates

Mary Foell – Purdue Extension

Mitch Bishop – LP County Planner

Mike Ordziejewski – LP GIS Director

Fonda Owens – Director, LPC Public Library

Kevin McGuire – Michigan City Area Schools

Viviana Plaza – La Porte County

Who We Are

The La Porte County Broadband Task Force is a hand selected, Blue Ribbon Panel of executives, representing key stakeholder groups from all of La Porte County’s primary anchor institutions, healthcare, education, government, and private industry. Special attention has been paid to assure the task force’s objective point of view in solving our connectivity challenges remains unbiased given the rapidly changing and technological evolutions for deploying data communications infrastructure.

La Porte County Rural Broadband Task Force Inaugural Meeting

March 2019


Equitable deployment and utilization of adequate broadband infrastructure to improve the quality of life and competitiveness of every resident, business, and organization in La Porte County.


Ensure La Porte County plans for, transitions to, and prospers in the digital age through a transformation into a human-centered digitally-inclusive technology-ready ecosystem.

Internet Providers
Public WiFi Spots
Family Engagement Tool Kit DOE
Purdue Digital Inclusion Update January 2021

Speaker and Education Segments

Purdue West Lafyette Professor specializing in rural broadband deployment and digital divide and continued advisor on data collection and broadband mapping throughout rural Indiana. Dr. Gallardo continue to serve in an advisory role to our efforts communicating on a Qrtly., basis advising our overall visioning and approach

Microsoft White Spaces technology for internet accessibility through vacated television wave spaces.

Discussion of the birth of a fiber network to promote and retain industry in St. Joseph county Indiana. 5 original investors simply pulled the trigger with the foresight to see well into the future has repaid it original investment 10 times over. It currently hosts 10 ISP and commercial customers alike on what is now ChoiceLight Inc.

A boutique consulting firm to assist communities and regions in streamlining a R.O.W access and revenue showing model that could potentially assist governments in leveraging vertical assets for development of 13 partnerships and ultimately generate enough revenue to build a private network.

Currently building out a 70 million dollar pipeline private network in North Carolina in a population of nearly 375,000 to deploy a 5-7 gigabit corporate network that can sustain the cyber security research interest of this department research locale. This is being conducted in direct partnership with Metronet of Evansville, Indiana.

Originally an electric Co-op deployed dark fiber to serve community residents with internet in many areas that could not access otherwise through the USDA grant program to serve agriculture communities across the United States

Broadband Preparedness designation through the state of Indiana and how to create a more ready for deployment community.

Met with Task Force members to show where existing long haul fiber lines exist and methods for the task force to tap into lines to deploy fiber throughout La Porte County.

Discussion of latest technology and how communities can become ready for fiber through surveying, maps, identifying all internet providers within and around the community as well as evaluation of prospective alternatives to fiber connections.

Get Connected La Porte County 

A report regarding progress made as a task force is scheduled for June. Please come back for more details as they become available.

Get In Touch

Need to talk to someone? Can’t find what you’re looking for?
Let’s try to get you to the information you need

Contact Us